from the publisher: WHERE The RED FERN GROWS by wilson rawls

Dog Reads is a blog that features children’s books with key dog characters. Sometimes an adult dog book sneaks in but for the most part Dog Reads aims to help kids, their parents, teachers, and librarians find dog books.

From the publisher:

For fans of Old Yeller and Shiloh, Where the Red Fern Grows is a beloved classic that captures the powerful bond between man and man’s best friend. This edition also includes a special note to readers from Newbery Medal winner and Printz Honor winner Clare Vanderpool.

Billy has long dreamt of owning not one, but two, dogs. So when he’s finally able to save up enough money for two pups to call his own—Old Dan and Little Ann—he’s ecstatic. It doesn’t matter that times are tough; together they’ll roam the hills of the Ozarks.
Soon Billy and his hounds become the finest hunting team in the valley. Stories of their great achievements spread throughout the region, and the combination of Old Dan’s brawn, Little Ann’s brains, and Billy’s sheer will seems unbeatable. But tragedy awaits these determined hunters—now friends—and Billy learns that hope can grow out of despair, and that the seeds of the future can come from the scars of the past.

from the publisher: OLD YELLER by fred gipson

Dog Reads is a blog that features children’s books with key dog characters. Sometimes an adult dog book sneaks in but for the most part Dog Reads aims to help kids, their parents, teachers, and librarians find dog books.

From the publisher:

When a novel like Huckleberry Finn, or The Yearling, comes along it defies customary adjectives because of the intensity of the respouse it evokes in the reader. Such a book, we submit, is Old Yeller; to read this eloquently simple story of a boy and his dog in the Texas hill country is an unforgettable and deeply moving experience.

from the publisher: WINNIE’S BEDTIME by leda schubert

Dog Reads is a blog that features children’s books with key dog characters. Sometimes an adult dog book sneaks in but for the most part Dog Reads aims to help kids, their parents, teachers, and librarians find dog books.

From the publisher:

Based on what experts know about how children learn to read, BRAND NEW READERS are short, funny stories with words and pictures that help children reading for the very first time succeed-and have fun!

BRAND NEW READERS are for children who are just cracking the reading code. Readers ages 4-7 can master BRAND NEW READERS immediately-even the first time through.

BRAND NEW READERS are funny and appealing stories, irresistibly packaged, and just right for first-time readers. Each title in this unique series includes four high-quality, full-color, 8-page paperback books in a sturdy slipcase. Kids will want to collect them all!

Winnie All Day Long consist of four books (Winnie Wakes Up ; In and Out ; Winnie’s Walk ; Winnie’s Bedtime)

Visit www.brandnewreaders.com to learn more about this unique new series!

from the publisher: GOOSED! by bill wallace

Dog Reads is a blog that features children’s books with key dog characters. Sometimes an adult dog book sneaks in but for the most part Dog Reads aims to help kids, their parents, teachers, and librarians find dog books.

From the publisher:

One dog too many
T.P. is Jeff’s dog. Jeff is T.P.’s boy. That’s the way T.P. likes it. Life is pretty good — until a stinky, thumping, yapping box turns up at the front door. Jeff’s friend Mandy has given Jeff a chocolate Lab puppy. They name her Mocha, and everything changes for T.P. Mocha drives him nuts with her endless chattering and questions. On top of all that, everyone keeps telling him to “be nice to the puppy.” If only things could go back to the way they were before….
But when Mocha gets “GOOSED,” will T.P. have the courage and compassion to come to her rescue?

 

from the publisher: SOUNDER by william h. armstrong

Dog Reads is a blog that features children’s books with key dog characters. Sometimes an adult dog book sneaks in but for the most part Dog Reads aims to help kids, their parents, teachers, and librarians find dog books.

From the publisher:

Set in the Deep South, this Newbery Medal-winning novel tells the story of the great coon dog, Sounder, and the poor sharecroppers who own him. Celebrating 30 years!

During the difficult years of the nineteenth century South, an African American boy and his poor family rarely have enough to eat. Each night, the boy’s father takes their dog, Sounder, out to look for food and the man grows more desperate by the day.

When food suddenly appears on the table one morning, it seems like a blessing. But the sheriff and his deputies are not far behind. The ever-loyal Sounder remains determined to help the family he loves as hard times bear down on them.

This classic novel shows the courage, love, and faith that bind an African American family together despite the racism and inhumanity they face. Readers who enjoy timeless dog stories such as Old Yeller and Where the Red Fern Grows will find much to love in Sounder.

All materials © 2017 Annemarie O'Brien. Web site by Websy Daisy. Illustration © 2013 by Tim Jessell